

Ordinance 1 – Members of the University

- 1.1 The following shall be members of the University:
- (i) The Officers of Swansea University namely the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellors, the Treasurer, the Vice-Chancellor, the Provost, the Pro-Vice-Chancellors, and the holders of such other posts as the Council may from time to time determine.
- (ii) The members of the Council of Swansea University.
- (iii) The members of the Senate of Swansea University.
- (iv) The members of the Court of Swansea University.
- (v) The Emeritus Professors of Swansea University.
- (vi) The Emeritus Professors of the University of Wales who were formerly members of the academic staff of the University College of Swansea or the University of Wales Swansea.
- (vii) Honorary Professors and others granted honorary titles in Swansea University and the University of Wales Swansea.
- (viii) All persons holding a written contract of employment with Swansea University.
- (ix) The graduates of Swansea University.
- (x) The graduates of the University of Wales who were formerly members of the University College of Swansea or the University of Wales Swansea.
- (xi) The students pursuing courses of study within Swansea University.
- (xii) All co-opted lay members of committees established in accordance with Ordinance 7
- (xiii) Honorary Governors appointed by the Council of Swansea University.
- 1.2 Membership of Swansea University shall continue for the individual member so long as at least one of the above conditions shall be met.

1.3 Membership of Swansea University has no legal significance and conveys no rights, privileges or obligations save as are set out in the Charter and the Statutes.